Programming the Perfect Fire digital controller

By popular demand I have been asked to upload the exactly how to program this controller.

In order to access the controllers programming schedule you need to do the following:

1. Press Seg/Ps until LED shows S-0 (S-0 is the start of your segments i.e. segment 1)

2. Using your arrow keys scroll up to the sgement you wish to reprogram eg if you want to reprogram segment 23 then use the arrow key up and scroll until the LED reads S-23

3. Press Select to enter the segment, this will take you to the first event of that segment. If you wish to change the event then use the arrows keys up down to select a new event, PRESS ENTER to store your choice

4. Then press Select to get to the next event, make your chages PRESS ENTER to store your selection.

In practise:

Ok all fine and well in theory but how do we put it into practice? Let’s say I am about to start lampworking. I want to put my newly made beads into a kiln that is holding a temperature of 515°C which is specified for soft glass (COE 96 – 104). I want to make beads for about 2hrs after work. Then when my two hours is over and my last bead has gone into the kiln, rule of thumb states the bead must be in the kiln for no less than 30 minutes before cooling down starts. Because we are working with soft glass the rate off cooling should typically be an hour till reaching 200°C at which point the kiln will switch off. The Program, segments and events look like this:

 1. Press Seg/Ps and use arrow key up to get to Segment 1 or S-1

2. I don’t want to change the event so when it says Cont I skip past this by pressing Select

3. I don’t want to change the ramp rate so when it says Full I skip past by pressing Select

4. The next event will be the soak time which I want to be 2hrs so I scroll up or down using the arrow keys until the LED states 2-00, I then PRESS ENTER to store the new time of 2hrs

5. The next event is temp which I want at 515°C so I skip past by pressing Select

6. This will take me to Segment 2 and will show the first event of segment 2 being Cont, I skip past this by pressing Select to the ramp rate which is Full so again I skip past and the next iten will be soak time which I want to be 30 mins

7. Using the arrow keys I scroll up or down to get to 30, then I PRESS ENTER to store the new setting and again press Select to get to the next event, which should be temperature 515°C. Again I make no change. Press Select to get to the next event being  the first event of segment 3 which will show Conr.

the last event you have is end on any program.

So to access the programs you pres Seg/Ps

To change a value you use the arrow up and down keys

To skip past an event you press Select

To store a new value you press Enter

If you desperately need me to show you just give me a call and we can book a time for me to come out at my usual hourly rate + travel

Leave a Reply

